Announces Presidential Exploratory Committee (2007 宣佈成立總統考察委員會)

Announces Presidential Exploratory Committee

[English Transcript from http://www.americanrhetoric.com]
[Chinese Translation from utalam]

As many of you know, over the last few months I’ve been thinking hard about my plans for 2008. Running for the presidency is a profound decision — a decision no one should make on the basis of media hype or personal ambition alone — and so before I committed myself and my family to this race, I wanted to be sure that this was right for us and, more importantly, right for the country.
很多人知道,在過去幾個月裡,我一直在思考我2008年的計劃。競選總統職務是需要深思熟慮的決定 – 一個決定,一個不應在媒體炒作或個人野心的基礎上而作出的決定 – 因此,在我和自己和我的家人參加這場競選之前,我想確保這對我們是正確的,更重要的是對國家是正確的。
I certainly didn’t expect to find myself in this position a year ago. But as I’ve spoken to many of you in my travels across the states these past months, as I’ve read your emails and read your letters, I’ve been struck by how hungry we all are for a different kind of politics. So I’ve spent some time thinking about how I could best advance the cause of change and progress that we so desperately need.
一年前,我當然沒想到會自己會走到這個位置。但是,正如我在過去幾個月的旅行中與許多人對話一樣,正如我已經閱讀你的電子郵件和閱讀你的信件一樣,我對所有人都渴望有不一樣的政治而感到震驚。所以我花了一些時間思考如何最好地推進我們迫切需要的變革和進步的事業。
The decisions that have been made in Washington these past six years, and the problems that have been ignored, have put our country in a precarious place. Our economy is changing rapidly, and that means profound changes for working people. Many of you have shared with me your stories about skyrocketing health care bills, the pensions you’ve lost and your struggles to pay for college for your kids. Our continued dependence on oil has put our security and our very planet at risk. And we’re still mired in a tragic and costly war that should have never been waged.
六年來在華盛頓所作的決定以及被忽視的問題使我們的國家處於不穩定的境地。我們的經濟正在快速變化,這意味著工人的深度變化。許多人與我分享了你們關於暴漲醫療保障的賬單,失去的養老金和為你的孩子支付大學費用而努力的故事。我們對石油的持續依賴使我們的安全和我們的地球處於危險之中。而且我們還是陷入了一場悲慘和昂貴的戰爭,那是不應發生的。
But challenging as they are, it’s not the magnitude of our problems that concerns me the most. It’s the smallness of our politics. America’s faced big problems before. But today, our leaders in Washington seem incapable of working together in a practical, common sense way. Politics has become so bitter and partisan, so gummed up by money and influence, that we can’t tackle the big problems that demand solutions. And that’s what we have to change first. We have to change our politics, and come together around our common interests and concerns as Americans.
但是挑戰仍是挑戰,我們最關心的不是問題嚴重程度。這是我們那麼渺小的政治。美國面臨大問題。但今天華盛頓的領導人似乎無法以實際,常識的方式共同合作。政治已經變得如此苦澀,黨派,因為金錢和影響力,所以我們無法解決需要解決的大問題。這就是我們必須先改變。我們必須改變我們的政治,作為美國人把我們的共同利益和關切圍繞在一起。
This won’t happen by itself. A change in our politics can only come from you — from people across our country who believe there’s a better way and are willing to work for it. Years ago, as a community organizer in Chicago, I learned that meaningful change always begins at the grassroots, and that engaged citizens working together can accomplish extraordinary things. So even in the midst of the enormous challenges we face today, I have great faith and hope about the future — because I believe in you.
這本身自己是不會發生。我們政治上的變化只能從你們出發 – 我們全國人民相信有更好的辦法,願意為之而努力。幾年前,作為芝加哥的社區組織者,我了解到有意義的變化總是從基層開始,而那些從事公民合作的人可以做到非凡的事情。所以即使在今天面臨的巨大挑戰中,我對未來也有著極大的信心和希望 – 因為我相信你。
And that’s why I wanted to tell you first that I’ll be filing papers today to create a presidential exploratory committee. For the next several weeks, I’m going to talk with people from around the country, listening and learning more about the challenges we face as a nation, the opportunities that lie before us, and the role that a presidential campaign might play in bringing our country together. And on February 10th, at the end of these discussions and in my home state of Illinois, I’ll share my plans with my friends, neighbors, and fellow Americans.
這就是為什麼我首先要告訴你,我今天要提交草案,就是來創建一個總統考察委員會。在接下來的幾個星期裡,我將與全國各地的人對話,傾聽和了解更多我們面對的一個國家所面臨的挑戰,擺在我們面前的機會,以及總統競選可能帶來團結的作用。而在二月十號,在這些討論結束之際,在我家鄉伊利諾伊州,我會和我的朋友,鄰居和美國人分享我的計劃。
In the meantime, I want to thank all of you for your time, your suggestions, your encouragement, and your prayers. And I look forward to continuing our conversation in the weeks and months to come.
在此期間,我要感謝大家的時間,你的建議,你的鼓勵和禱告。我期待著在未來幾周和幾個月裡繼續我們談話。
Published by

Uta Lam

I love Tech! I love design! I love inspirational speeches! I love all the beautiful and chic stuff...

Leave a Reply

